22nd September, 2018

Frequently asked questions about Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme

Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme (IGNDPS) and when was it implemented?

IGNDPS is a scheme for providing financial assistance to citizens with physical and mental disabilities and who are living below the poverty line. The scheme was introduced in February 2009 under the National Social Assistance Programme.

2. How does the scheme define disability in order to identify beneficiaries for the scheme?

According to the Persons with Disability (PWD) Act 1995, disability means persons who are suffering from blindness, low vision, leprosy cured, hearing impairment, loco-motor disability, mental illness and retardation, autism, cerebral palsy and even dwarfs. It also means that the person is suffering from not less than 40 % of any disability as certified by a medical authority.

3. What are the eligibility criteria for receiving pension under IGNDPS?

In order to qualify for the scheme, the applicant:

  • must be aged between 18 to 79 years
  • should belong to an Indian household living below the poverty line
  • should be suffering from multiple or severe disabilities as per PWD Act 1995
  • should not have a son above the age of 21 years

4. What are multiple and severe disabilities under the scheme?

Multiple disabilities means a person is suffering from a combination of two or more disabilities. Severe disability means a person is suffering from 80 % or more of any one or more disabilities.

5. What kind of benefit is available under the scheme?

IGNDPS provides benefits in the form of financial help to disabled beneficiaries. Central assistance is provided at the rate of:

  • 300/- per month to applicants between 18 to 79 years of age
  • 500/- per month to applicants aged above 80 years

6. How will the money be disbursed to the beneficiaries?

The pension money is sent to the applicant’s home through Money Order or in cash in Gram Sabhas. It may also be credited to their bank or post office account.

7. What are the objectives of IGNDPS?

Through the scheme, the Government of India aims to provide public assistance to differently-abled citizens without a source of income or family support and enabling them to financial independent. This welfare measure of the Government also fulfills the constitutional principles of Article 41 of the Directive Principles of State Policy.

8. What is the amount allocated for the scheme in the financial year 2017-18?

The Union budget for the IGNDPS scheme is Rs 274.30 crores for the financial year 2017-18.

9. How can a beneficiary apply to avail benefits of the scheme?

Application forms need to be filled up available free of cost at Gram Panchayats and Municipalities (also downloadable from the website).  Authorized officials appointed by States also assist beneficiaries in form-filling, getting relevant records and certificates. On furnishing relevant documents, a disability identity card is issued. After verification and on being approved, beneficiaries will be issued a Pension Passbook and Sanction Order.

10. What are the documents required to apply for the scheme?

The documents required for getting benefits under IGNDPS are:

  • Disability certificate issued by medical authority
  • BPL certificate issued by competent authority
  • Aadhaar Card
  • Proof of Age
  • Any one of the documents like Voter’s ID, Ration Card, Bank Passbook, PAN Card, Passport, Driving License, MGNREGA Card